A fractional chief technology officer, on this page, means a senior technical leader who works for a company one, two or three days a week instead of five. This page is about what a company that already runs a working app pays for that person. It is not about what the person doing the job takes home, and it has nothing to do with fractional ownership of anything.
Nine results hold the first page for this question. Eight are seller, directory or programme pages, one is a community thread that could not be read, and each of the eight publishes its own set of numbers. Not one of them reads what the others publish.
The numbers disagree for a reason none of those pages states plainly: the unit changes the answer. An hour, a day, a month and a fixed fee for one agreed piece of work are four different purchases, and a seller who prices in one of them is not quoting a version of the others. Two of the ranking pages print figures their own page source dates to 2024. One holds a top-ten position on a rate query and prints no rate anywhere in its article. One labels several of its own pricing widgets as placeholder text.
A fractional chief technology officer is priced in one of four units, and the unit decides the number: an hour, a day, a month, or a fixed fee for one agreed piece of work. Every figure below was read from the seller’s own page on 2 September 2026, and none of them is an average of the others.
Every figure and every absence here comes from one read of the source page itself on 2 September 2026, taken from the page source rather than the rendered view, and written in the words and the unit that page uses. Where a page prints no figure, or refused an automated read, that is recorded with the date and with the part of the page that was checked. Nobody was hired, interviewed or paid for this page, no provider is recommended, and nothing here is rated, scored or ranked.
The four units a fractional CTO is sold in, and why the number changes with the unit
Fourteen pages across these searches could be read on 2 September 2026. Counting only the figures those fourteen print in their own article text, and counting each page in the unit it prices in rather than in a unit it derives from its own rate, the units break down like this.
| Unit | What the price is attached to | Pages printing a figure in it |
|---|---|---|
| An hour | Time counted after it is spent | 9 of 14 |
| A day | A booked day of the week | 2 of 14 |
| A month | A number of days or hours a week | 10 of 14 |
| A fixed fee | One piece of work agreed in advance | 6 of 14 |
The four columns of that table are not four ways of saying the same thing. A monthly figure buys a slice of somebody’s calendar, and what happens inside that slice is decided later. An hourly figure buys the opposite: nothing is reserved, and the total is only known once the work is done. A day rate sits between them, and a fixed fee for a defined piece of work is the only one of the four where the buyer knows what they are getting before any money moves.
Sellers act on that difference rather than treating the units as interchangeable. Ezequiel Actis Grosso, a solo operator whose pricing page at fractionalcto.com.ar/fractional-cto-pricing prints three monthly tiers, refuses hourly billing in print under a heading reading “I Don’t Sell Hours”, and states: “Every engagement here is a monthly retainer or a fixed-fee project.” The same page prints an hourly figure only in order to refuse the unit, saying that listings for the same experience commonly advertise $150 to $300 an hour and that it publishes no hourly rate of its own, so it is not counted in the hourly row of the table above. That page renders no publication or update date to an automated read on 2 September 2026. Read against the pages that price by the hour, it is the clearest evidence on this search that the unit is a position rather than a formatting choice.
The same disagreement shows up inside a single page. Cleartone Consulting’s cost post at cleartoneconsulting.com/sb/the-real-cost-of-hiring-a-fractional-cto/ prints two different monthly figures under two different labels: a monthly retainer at $5,000 to $20,000 a month, and, further down the same post, ongoing part-time work at $10,000 to $25,000 a month. Both were on the page on 2 September 2026, and its own page source gives a publication and a modification date of 27 May 2024.
No arithmetic is done to those numbers anywhere on this page. A monthly figure is never divided back into an hourly one, a day rate is never multiplied into a month, and a figure in pounds and a figure in dollars stay separate facts, each in the currency the seller printed it in. Each number keeps the name of whoever printed it, the unit that seller sells in, and the date the page carries. Whether to buy hours or to buy one agreed figure is a decision with its own contract shapes, argued where that comparison lives.
What is the average hourly rate for a fractional CTO?
There is one published average on this search, and it is an average of advertised rates rather than of what buyers paid. Nine of the fourteen pages read on 2 September 2026 print an hourly figure, each one its own. What follows is each figure with the page that printed it.
| Published hourly figure | Source, as it names itself | What the figure covers | Date the page gives itself |
|---|---|---|---|
| $200 to $500 an hour | Kompella Technologies | its read of the market | 30 Apr 2026, updated 25 Aug 2026 |
| $200 to $500 an hour | Continuum | its read of the market | no date renders |
| $150 to $500 an hour | Cleartone Consulting | its read of the market | 27 May 2024 |
| $150 to $300 an hour | Founder Institute | its read of the market | 16 Jul 2024 |
| $60 to $120 an hour | HyperNest Labs | its own rate, no retainer | 15 Jan 2024, modified 10 Jun 2026 |
| $139, $173, $188 and $212 an hour | CTO Fraction, rate article | outputs of its own arithmetic, step by step | 20 Dec 2024, modified 15 Jun 2025 |
| at least $225 to $250 an hour | CTO Fraction, rate article | its own stated conclusion | as above |
| $150 to $400 an hour | WTT Solutions | what it says some providers bill | 30 Mar 2026 |
| $218 an hour average, $210 median, $160 to $250 for the middle half | Go Fractional, rate benchmark | rates observed in job posts and candidate profiles | page source stamped 2 Sep 2026 |
One hourly figure on this search is not in the table above: the directory page’s band, which carries the same two caveats as its day rate and is set out with that day rate in the next section. WTT Solutions, a development firm whose roundup at wtt-solutions.com/blog/fractional-cto-companies, dated 30 March 2026 on the page with a named author, prints $150 to $400 an hour as what it says some providers bill for seasoned CTOs in North America or Western Europe, and prices nothing of its own by the hour. Four of the pages in the table above carry a date older than the search that surfaced them. Cleartone Consulting’s post gives 27 May 2024 as both its publication and its modification date in the page source. The Founder Institute’s editorial at fi.co/insight/brief-overview-of-fractional-cto-blog is dated 16 July 2024 on the page and states that it was originally published on another company’s blog; alongside its $150 to $300 an hour band it prints $100 an hour for an early-stage firm and up to $1000 an hour for technical due diligence done for an investor before a large round, and it notes that a fractional CTO may also request equity. HyperNest Labs carries a 2024 publication date with a 2026 modification date, and its own rate of $60 to $120 an hour sits in a table on hypernestlabs.com/insights/cost-of-fractional-cto beside three market rows it attributes to different cities.
CTO Fraction’s rate article is a different object again, and worth reading as one. Rather than a market survey, it is one practitioner working out, step by step, what an independent has to charge to end up where a salaried person ends up. The page starts from its own full-time salary assumption, which its author calls conservative rather than a survey result, then adds self-employment tax, an allowance for time spent finding clients, an allowance for buying health cover, and the days nobody is paid for. The first three of those steps publish $139, $173 and $188 an hour in turn. The fourth publishes three figures rather than one, for ten holidays alone, for ten holidays with two weeks of vacation and for ten holidays with four weeks, and the fullest of the three is the $212 in the table above. The page’s own conclusion for an operator with twenty to twenty-five years of experience is at least $225 to $250 an hour. The body of that page states its numbers are as of December 2024, and its page source gives 20 December 2024 with a modification on 15 June 2025. It was read at ctofraction.com/blog/how-much-should-you-pay-for-a-fractional-cto/ on 2 September 2026.
Only one page on this search publishes an average rather than a range. It is the marketplace benchmark at gofractional.com/insights/rates/cto, and it is worth reading for how it arrives at the number. It gives an average of $218 an hour, a median of $210, and $160 to $250 an hour as the middle half of what it observes. Its own account of where those come from is public hiring activity and candidate profiles over a rolling ninety-day window, with benchmarks published only when it holds enough data. The page prices in hours only. The monthly figures it shows beside its hours-a-week panel are its own hourly average multiplied out over a four-week month, which it says in as many words, and several of its panels sit behind a free sign-up. That address refused two automated requests on 2 September 2026, one sent with a browser user agent and one without, and answered a third the same day; the page source of the copy that answered is stamped 2 September 2026, which is what a benchmark rebuilt on a rolling window looks like.
Which leaves the word average with one source behind it and a limit around it. What that page averages is what companies advertise and what candidates ask, not what buyers paid on arrangements that finished. No page on this search publishes the second thing.
Day rates and monthly tiers, and what the tier is actually attached to
Two of the fourteen pages price a day. Kompella Technologies puts a day rate at $1,500 to $4,000 a day on its pricing article at kompella.io/thinking/fractional-cto-pricing-2026, published 30 April 2026 and updated 25 August 2026 in its own page source. Fractional Quest, a job directory rather than a seller, leads its cost page at fractional.quest/fractional-cto-cost with £800 to £2,000 a day for the UK market and marks the page “Last updated: May 2026”. That second figure comes with two things attached to it, and both belong in the same breath as the number: the page states it takes the band from another site rather than measuring it, and its rendered text carries the words “PLACEHOLDER”, “INDICATIVE” and “MOCK” beside several of its own pricing and chart widgets.
The monthly figures are where most of this market actually transacts, and they are the ones with a time commitment printed next to them. Every row below was read on 2 September 2026 from the page named in it.
| Published monthly figure | Time attached, as the page states it | Source, as it names itself | Date the page gives itself |
|---|---|---|---|
| $8,000 to $25,000 a month | 1 day to 3 or more days a week | Kompella Technologies, market read | 30 Apr 2026, updated 25 Aug 2026 |
| $8,000 a month, Advisory | 1 day a week | Kompella Technologies, own tier | as above |
| $15,000 a month, Fractional | 2 days a week | Kompella Technologies, own tier | as above |
| $25,000 a month, Embedded | 3 or more days a week | Kompella Technologies, own tier | as above |
| $5,000 to $25,000 a month | not stated as a weekly figure | Continuum, market read | no date renders |
| $500 to $1,500 a month, Care | monitoring and fixes, not leadership | Continuum, own tier | no date renders |
| $3,000 to $15,000 a month, Partner | scaled to how deep the work goes | Continuum, own tier | no date renders |
| $3,000 to $6,000 a month, Advisory | 2 to 5 hours a week | HyperNest Labs, market read | 15 Jan 2024, modified 10 Jun 2026 |
| $6,000 to $12,000 a month, Light | 8 to 12 hours a week | HyperNest Labs, market read | as above |
| $12,000 to $18,000 a month, Standard | 15 to 20 hours a week | HyperNest Labs, market read | as above |
| $18,000 to $25,000 and above, Intensive | 25 to 32 hours a week | HyperNest Labs, market read | as above |
| $5,000 a month, Advisory | month to month, no lock-in | Ezequiel Actis Grosso, own tier | no date renders |
| $7,000 to $10,000 a month, Advisory plus MVP | as above | Ezequiel Actis Grosso, own tier | no date renders |
| $10,000 to $15,000 a month, Embedded | as above | Ezequiel Actis Grosso, own tier | no date renders |
| $10,000 to $25,000 a month | ongoing part-time | Cleartone Consulting | 27 May 2024 |
| $9,000 to $18,000 a month in Australian dollars | days a week named as a driver, no quantity attached | Fractionus, market read | 24 Mar 2026, updated 12 Aug 2026 |
| $9,000 to $22,000 a month in US dollars | as above | Fractionus, market read | as above |
| £6,000 to £16,000 a month in pounds | as above | Fractionus, market read | as above |
| $3,000 to $7,000 a month, advisory-focused | 5 to 10 hours a week | WTT Solutions, market read | 30 Mar 2026 |
| $8,000 to $15,000 and above, leadership | 15 to 20 hours a week | WTT Solutions, market read | as above |
| $5,000 to $25,000 a month | not stated as a weekly figure | WTT Solutions, market read | as above |
| $10,000 to $25,000 a month | monthly only, hours a week named as the driver | Go Fractional, its own price | last updated 13 Aug 2026 |
Read down the second column rather than the first. Most of those prices are attached to a quantity of the calendar: one day a week, two days, three or more, or a number of hours between two and thirty-two. Where a row prints no quantity, the seller still points at the calendar as the thing that moves the figure, and the four rows from the two marketplaces name days or hours a week in as many words. Nothing in that column describes a piece of work. The tier names are worth comparing as language rather than as a ladder, because three sellers use overlapping words for different amounts of time. Advisory means one day a week on one page, two to five hours a week on another, and a flat monthly figure with no weekly commitment printed on a third. Embedded means three or more days a week on one page and something priced lower on another. A buyer who takes a tier name from one seller’s page into a conversation with a different seller is carrying a word, not a quantity.
Two of those sellers are worth separating out, because each prints its monthly figures in a shape the others do not. Fractionus, a marketplace for fractional executives, prints a three-market table on fractionus.com/blog/fractional-cto-what-they-do-when-you-need-one, published 24 March 2026 and updated 12 August 2026 in its own page source: $9,000 to $18,000 a month in Australian dollars, $9,000 to $22,000 a month in US dollars, and £6,000 to £16,000 a month in pounds. Its own sentence names seniority and days a week as what moves a figure inside those bands, and attaches no quantity of days to any of the three. WTT Solutions, a development firm, prints its ranges on wtt-solutions.com/blog/fractional-cto-companies, dated 30 March 2026 in its article header: $3,000 to $7,000 a month for an advisory-focused tier at five to ten hours a week, $8,000 to $15,000 and above for a leadership tier at fifteen to twenty hours a week, and $5,000 to $25,000 a month as what it calls typical for the service. Three currencies from one seller and three overlapping bands from another are the clearest sign on this search that a monthly figure is not a market rate.
The marketplace on this search prices in one unit and says so. Its guide at gofractional.com/blog/fractional-cto, which carries a founder byline and an update stamp of 13 August 2026, states that it offers monthly retainers only and that its prices typically run $10,000 to $25,000 a month. The same passage adds the only supply-side number on either search: it charges the people it places a 20 percent rate for its sales and administrative services, which is one published reason a buyer’s monthly figure and a practitioner’s take are not the same number.
There is one thing two of these pages agree on, and it is not a price. Continuum and HyperNest Labs each list what moves a number within a band, and each names the same lever outright: whether the person is writing production code or only reviewing it. Continuum’s list of the four things that move a rate puts pure advisory work below writing production code in as many words, and HyperNest Labs states that writing code costs more than reviewing it. Whether a fractional chief technology officer writes any of your code at all, and what changes when they do, is the question underneath that lever, and it deserves an answer of its own rather than a line in a rate table.
How much does CTO as a service cost?
CTO as a service is the same purchase under a third name, and it returns a different set of sellers. One of them publishes a figure: Devox Software prices the arrangement from $5,000 a month, with a technical audit at $10,000 and an architecture redesign at around $25,000, on a page that renders no date.
Search the phrase and the market changes shape. On 2 September 2026 the nine results for the “CTO as a service cost” query shared not one domain with either of the two fractional CTO searches read for this page. The sellers who rank on it are mostly software development companies rather than individual operators, which is a different kind of business selling a differently shaped thing under a name that sounds like a synonym.
Devox Software’s service page at devoxsoftware.com/services/cto-as-a-service/ is the one on that search with prices in its body text, read on 2 September 2026. Its own heading asks two things at once, “What does CTO as a service cost? How does that compare to an internal hire?”, and it answers the first with a monthly figure from $5,000 a month, then prices two one-off pieces of work separately: a technical audit at $10,000 and an architecture redesign at around $25,000. The page renders no publication or update date to an automated read, so how old those three figures are is not knowable from the page itself.
That is the whole of what the third name adds in money terms. What it adds in meaning is a different question. Whether outsourced, part-time, interim, half or as a service signals anything real about how many hours you get and who is accountable is answered where those names are collected and compared, not here.
Cash, equity, or both, and what providers publish about it
Three of the pages read for this page publish a position on taking equity instead of cash, or alongside it. They do not agree, and each is stated here as that seller’s own published position rather than as advice.
Kompella Technologies writes on its pricing article, published 30 April 2026 and updated 25 August 2026: “Equity-only fractional CTO engagements are rare and we recommend founders avoid them.” The same page states that where cash and equity are combined, “The cash component should still be ~50%+ of the typical engagement value.”
Continuum, on its pricing page at uxcontinuum.com/fractional-cto-pricing, takes the opposite starting point and writes that “Most fractional CTOs take no equity at all”, describing an optional addition of 0.25% to 1% for long-term alignment where cash is tight. That page renders no date to an automated read.
HyperNest Labs publishes the most specific position of the three: “We accept up to 30% of our fee in advisory equity” for the right startups. That is a discount mechanism rather than a cofounder share, and the page presents it as a way of lowering a client’s cash burn.
The Founder Institute’s 2024 editorial notes only that a fractional CTO may also request equity alongside an hourly rate, without a figure.
Four sources, describing three different offers rather than one disputed fact: cash only, cash with a small equity add-on, and equity in place of cash. A seller can hold any of those positions honestly, so ask which one a quote assumes. What none of them is doing is answering the question a founder is usually asking underneath it, which is whether giving away a percentage of the company is cheaper over five years than paying cash for the same work. That comparison needs both sides costed from published sources, and it is made where that comparison lives.
The pages that publish no price, and the ones that could not be read
The absences on this search are as informative as the figures, and each one below names what was checked and when.
Sterling Technology ranks in the top ten for the hourly query with a post at sterling-technology.com/blog/fractional-cto-cost titled for hourly rates and dated 26 August 2026 with a named author. Its raw HTML was read in full on 2 September 2026 and prints no rate figure anywhere in its body copy. The only currency symbol in the entire file sits inside a site-wide currency-settings script, which is site chrome rather than the article. Its own FAQ takes the question directly and answers it without a number: “Hourly rates can range widely, but many businesses choose a monthly retainer for predictable budgeting.”
The record has one gap left in it, and it is not the one this search looks like it has. The marketplace rates benchmark refused two automated requests on 2 September 2026 and answered a third on the same date, so what it publishes is in the section above rather than missing. What is missing is anything that measures completed arrangements. Every figure on this page is an asking price, a published tier or an observed advertisement, and no page on either search reports what a buyer actually paid at the end of one.
Fractional Quest’s cost page is readable and dated, and its own bytes undercut it. The words “PLACEHOLDER”, “INDICATIVE” and “MOCK” appear in the rendered page beside several of its pricing and chart widgets, and the headline day-rate band the page leads with is attributed to a third site rather than measured by the directory itself. The page is also the only one on the search that separates its buyer-facing content from its practitioner-facing content in as many words, which is a distinction the rest of this market blurs.
Three of the pricing pages read for this page render no publication or update date at all to an automated read: uxcontinuum.com/fractional-cto-pricing, fractionalcto.com.ar/fractional-cto-pricing and devoxsoftware.com/services/cto-as-a-service/. Their figures may be current or two years old, and the page gives you no way to tell.
Two community threads rank on the two fractional searches and neither could be read on 2 September 2026. Only their search listings were available, and nothing from either is quoted, summarised or counted here.
The one job none of these units prices
Go back to the second column of the monthly table. Every figure on this page is attached to a quantity of somebody’s time, or to a piece of work both sides have already agreed the shape of. Nothing in the whole set is attached to a problem that has not been looked at yet.
That matters most for the reader this page was written for: somebody who owns an application that already runs, that an AI builder or a contractor produced, and that nobody from outside has opened. For that owner, the first real question is what is actually in the thing. None of the units above answers it. A tier priced at two days a week does not say whether the first four of those days go on reading the codebase or on the work you wanted done. A day rate does not say how many days come before the first change ships. A monthly figure at the Advisory end buys a conversation each week, which is worth something only once somebody knows what the conversation is about.
That is a description of what these units can and cannot express rather than a criticism of any seller on this search. A price for a slice of the calendar is a good instrument when the work is known and continuous, and a poor one when the largest unknown is the software itself.
Four neighbouring purchases get named here only so nobody hunts for them on this page. A monthly arrangement bought from a web developer is a different purchase with its own published fee shapes and its own hours question, set out where that purchase belongs. What it costs to keep an application running month after month is priced from its own set of published seller figures, and none of them is repeated here. Paying once for an hour of somebody’s opinion is a different purchase from paying every month for their availability, and it is priced where it belongs. And what one named result costs through each way of buying a person’s time is set out where that route is priced, for software that already runs.
Nothing above is an AxonBuild price, and no arrangement of the shape this page has just finished reading is on sale here, because what these sellers sell is a share of somebody’s week.
Common questions about fractional CTO cost
How much does a fractional CTO charge?
It depends on the unit, and every published figure belongs to whoever published it. Of the fourteen pages read on 2 September 2026, Kompella Technologies publishes $200 to $500 an hour and $8,000 to $25,000 a month, HyperNest Labs publishes its own rate of $60 to $120 an hour with no retainer, and Ezequiel Actis Grosso publishes three monthly tiers at $5,000, at $7,000 to $10,000 and at $10,000 to $15,000. Those are separate sellers’ separate prices and never one market range.
What is CTO pricing?
CTO pricing is the set of four units this market sells in: an hour, a day, a month, or a fixed fee for one agreed piece of work. Sellers price in one or two of them and convert nothing, which is why two quotes for what sounds like the same job can be impossible to compare until you ask which unit each one is quoting.
Is a fractional CTO cheaper than a full-time CTO?
Most pages on this search say yes, and most of them sell the fractional side. One of the fourteen does not: Sterling Technology’s post opens by saying that many teams assume the fractional route is always cheaper than a full-time hire, and that the real cost depends on your needs and on how the arrangement is written. What the rest compare is a monthly or hourly figure against a full year of salary, benefits, bonus and a recruiter fee, and that comparison only holds if you genuinely need fewer than five days a week. None of those full-time figures is repeated on this page.
What is a normal minimum commitment for a fractional CTO?
The published minimums disagree, so ask rather than assume. Two of the sellers read on 2 September 2026 publish month-to-month terms with no lock-in, one of them adding thirty days’ notice; one publishes no minimum commitment at all and says most firms in its market require three to six months; and the directory page treats one to two days a week as the standard shape without naming a minimum term.
Does a fractional CTO cost more if they write code?
On the pages that name their own pricing levers, yes. Continuum and HyperNest Labs each list what moves a figure within a band, and each names whether the person is writing code or only reviewing it as one of those levers. Continuum’s page puts pure advisory work below production work in as many words, and HyperNest Labs prints the same distinction as a line of its own.
Whether the person in this role writes any of your code at all is the sharper question, and the answer changes what you are buying rather than only what it costs. That distinction is worked through on its own page.
Do fractional CTOs charge for the first conversation?
Not where any of them says. Four of the fourteen pages read on 2 September 2026 publish a free first call with a length attached, all of them twenty or thirty minutes and usually the page’s main call to action; three more offer a free consultation without naming a length; the rest either invite a call without describing it or say nothing about a first conversation at all. Nowhere in the set is a first conversation priced, which is a sales convention across this market rather than a concession.
Why do two providers quote such different numbers for the same job?
Because they are pricing different amounts of time and different kinds of work, and because the levers they publish are not the same. Kompella Technologies names a premium of 20 to 40 percent for the healthtech, fintech and AI-applied work its page lists; HyperNest Labs names experience, domain, location, stage and whether code is being written; Continuum names hours a week, track record and urgency. Two quotes that look far apart often differ on how many days a week each one assumed.
Is a monthly fractional CTO price the same thing as a developer retainer?
No. A monthly fractional price buys a share of a senior person’s decisions: architecture, hiring, what gets built and in what order. A developer retainer buys a block of build and fix time, and is usually written with an hours figure and a rule about unused hours. The two are priced in the same unit and bought for different reasons.
Owning an app means being able to run it, change it and recover it without guessing. The sprint below leaves you with the runbooks and documentation to do that.
Built it with AI. Now it has to hold up for real customers.
The Production Hardening Sprint takes the app you already have and builds the production foundation underneath it. Authentication and access rules, payments that stay consistent, error handling, monitoring, backups, automated tests and a documented handover. Our engineers work inside your existing codebase for ten working days. All 123 deliverables are included, and you get the evidence for each one.
See the Production Hardening Sprint →
$2,500 fixed price · 10 working days · One codebase